Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Questions and Answers
Ristretto & Lungo extactions? What to look for with a Bottomless PF/NPF?
Home Espresso Machines
Watch videos with Gail & Kat, Rocket, Jura Capresso, Saeco, Rancilio, Quick Mill, Nespresso
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Q and A > Ristretto &...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
EQUII
EQUII
Expertise: I love coffee

Espresso: Gaggia Classic, Pony,...
Grinder: MAZZER Mastrè, Mazzer SJ...
Vac Pot: Bodum
Drip: Lots
Posted Tue Mar 18, 2014, 2:35pm
Subject: Ristretto & Lungo extactions? What to look for with a Bottomless PF/NPF?

Im a coffee newbie!! I've been practicing for about a year now, And would love some advice on what to look for wile pulling a Ristretto & Lungo using a Bottomless or N/PF? Ive now got to the point were I'm getting decent extractions on 15-17g double shot espresso's 25-27sec.  (This is were I've found the sweet spot on my classic) 70% of the time.

However, when I try to fine up my grind for a Ristretto, I get very little crema, and just a bland (citric smelling) off taste extraction with a light creamy color coming out of the NPF, & No beautiful Tiger striping that I normally get..  I make doubles Ristrettos, My single basket is pressurized, and have yet to get a non-pressurized one yet.
So I get a yield of close to 3oz in 24-31 secs.

I have better success with lungos, (~4.75oz yield/45s-55s). But again, lack of crema and taste being extremely "metallic" and sour!