Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Questions and Answers
Extraction time low (~15 seconds) for double shots?
Learn @seattlecoffeegear
Learn all about coffee, watch videos, read how-to articles.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Q and A > Extraction time...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
eternal

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Wed Mar 19, 2014, 3:35pm
Subject: Extraction time low (~15 seconds) for double shots?

Hi,

I'm pretty new to coffee and espresso so I'm probably making some beginners' mistakes. I have a...

Breville Cafe Roma w/ unpressurized portafilter
Breville BCG450XL burr grinder
some sort of metallic tamper

I understand that extraction time is a result of a combination of factors, but I'm not sure what's going wrong. I grind on the finest setting and tamp a few times, but both the unpressurized and pressurized filters give me roughly the same (around 15sec) extraction time (the former without much crema at all). I've tried extracting until around 20 or 22 secs but the espresso just becomes watery.

I doubt there's a concrete "perfect" extraction time, but I've noticed my home espresso tastes a bit less rich or full than espresso from most cafes.

Also, these times were counted from the moment I turn the switch, not from the moment the espresso starts flowing. I'm not sure which is correct.
 View Profile Link to this post
SproBro

Expertise: I love coffee

Espresso: CC1 v1.5
Grinder: Compak K10PB, Vario
Posted Wed Mar 19, 2014, 9:28pm
Subject: Re: Extraction time low (~15 seconds) for double shots?