Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Members: CoffeeGeek Site Info and News
Virus Warning - email that appears to be from CoffeeGeek
Capresso MT500 Closeout!
$50 off our best selling drip coffee maker. While supplies last.
www.1stincoffee.com
 
Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Members > Site News > Virus Warning -...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
MarkPrince
Moderator
MarkPrince
Joined: 19 Dec 2001
Posts: 5,138
Location: Vancouver
Expertise: Professional

Espresso: Frankenstein'ed LM Linea
Grinder: Anfim Super Caimano
Vac Pot: 1922 Silex
Drip: Krups Moka Brew
Roaster: Hottop
Posted Wed Mar 3, 2004, 2:11pm
Subject: Virus Warning - email that appears to be from CoffeeGeek
 

Just a heads up - a new virus is making the rounds that, when read, would appear to come legit from CoffeeGeek.com (esp. from support@ or info@)

This email is NOT from CoffeeGeek, nor is anyone at CoffeeGeek currently infected with a virus. This is another "spoof" email transmitted virus / trojan that is better written than the others we've seen recently.

The body of the message is like this:

Dear user  of Coffeegeek.com,

We  warn you about some  attacks  on your e-mail account. Your  computer may
contain viruses, in order to keep your computer  and e-mail account safe,
please,  follow the instructions.

For  more  information see the attached file.

Attached  file is protected  with the password for security  reasons.  Password is 51176.

Kind regards,
    The Coffeegeek.com team

And it includes an attachment or zip file.

Again, this message is NOT legitimate; it is a virus transmitted email. Do not open the attachment. Toss the email into your trash bin immediately. And please, stop emailing me or Wayne saying we gave you a virus. :)

Mark

 
Mark Prince, CoffeeGeek.com, CoffeeKid.com
CoffeeGeek on Youtube: www.youtube.com/coffeegeek
CoffeeGeek's Flickr Stream: www.flickr.com/photos/coffeegeek
back to top
 View Profile Visit website Link to this post
HB
Senior Member


Joined: 3 Apr 2003
Posts: 2,914
Location: Cary, NC
Posted Wed Mar 3, 2004, 3:46pm
Subject: Re: Virus Warning - email that appears to be from CoffeeGeek
 

This might be a good time for members to add "anti-spam" inserts to the e-mail listed in their public profile (e.g., your.NO_SPAM.id@remove_Me.hotmail.com).  I assume this virus is trolling for e-mails from there.  I see plenty of e-mails "in the clear" on this site.  

Mark/Wayne, what about inserting it automatically, e.g, mailto:your_id.nospam9934_removeMe@hotmail.com?  I know it inconveniences us all a little, but could slow down the onslaught of spam / viruses.

-- Dan

 
www.home-barista.com
back to top
 View Profile Visit website Link to this post
jim_schulman
Senior Member
jim_schulman
Joined: 19 Dec 2001
Posts: 3,772
Location: Chicago
Expertise: I live coffee
Posted Thu Mar 4, 2004, 11:28pm
Subject: Re: Virus Warning - email that appears to be from CoffeeGeek
 

I'm not sure how much good that will do; this new bagel virus is a masterpiece -- I got one from my ISP, ameritech (spoofed of course), informing me that I was sending out the virus, and that my account would be suspended if I didn't immediately run the patch.

Ameritech's (yahoo's) virus scanner caught it and tagged the message.

This made it by far the most surreal email I've gotten to date.

 
Jim Schulman
www.coffeecuppers.com
back to top
 View Profile Visit website Link to this post
ECM
Senior Member
ECM
Joined: 11 Oct 2003
Posts: 268
Location: Waterloo, Ontario Canada
Expertise: I like coffee

Espresso: Giotto Premium + Cantesa...
Grinder: Mazzer Mini +Solis 66...
Vac Pot: French Press
Drip: yes
Roaster: Fresh Roast+8,  i-roast and...
Posted Sun Mar 7, 2004, 11:38am
Subject: Re: Virus Warning - email that appears to be from CoffeeGeek
 

Thanks for the heads up guys,

Rob
back to top
 View Profile Link to this post
drsmith
Senior Member


Joined: 8 May 2004
Posts: 178
Location: ny
Expertise: I live coffee

Espresso: Mr Coffee
Grinder: Crank by hand
Vac Pot: n/a
Drip: Bunn
Roaster: Hearthware prec.; Whirley...
Posted Thu Jul 29, 2004, 2:12am
Subject: Re: Virus Warning - email that appears to be from CoffeeGeek
 

According to TrendMicro, this is the latest MyDoom.M virus.  It's somewhat difficult to figure out who's the infected party, and it's probably not the result of email addresses being available on the site.

Basically what happens is the virus looks at the address book in the infected computer's email program.  It then sends out messages where it chooses the To: field at random from the address book.  The From: field is always support@<somedomain> or admin@<somedomain>.  The victim will get the message, but it will appear to come from a legit address at coffeegeek even though it actually originated on some other computer out there on the internet.  Basically, they're taking advantage of the fact that almost every commercial site out there has an email address that starts out with support@... just to make the message appear to be official.
back to top
 View Profile Link to this post
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Discussions > Members > Site News > Virus Warning -...  
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered     Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
Discussions Quick Jump:
Symbols: New Posts= New Posts since your last visit      No New Posts= No New Posts since last visit     Go to most recent post= Newest post
Forum Rules:
No profanity, illegal acts or personal attacks will be tolerated in these discussion boards.
No commercial posting of any nature will be tolerated; only private sales by private individuals, in the "Buy and Sell" forum.
No cross posting allowed - do not post your topic to more than one forum, nor repost a topic to the same forum.
Who Can Read The Forum? Anyone can read posts in these discussion boards.
Who Can Post New Topics? Any registered CoffeeGeek member can post new topics.
Who Can Post Replies? Any registered CoffeeGeek member can post replies.
Can Photos be posted? Anyone can post photos in their new topics or replies.
Who can change or delete posts? Any CoffeeGeek member can edit their own posts. Only moderators can delete posts.
Probationary Period: If you are a new signup for CoffeeGeek, you cannot promote, endorse, criticise or otherwise post an unsolicited endorsement for any company, product or service in your first five postings.
OE Doser Funnel
New from the OE Design Studio
The Ipanema
Tall & Tidy
Bright & Shiny!
www.orphanespresso.com

WIPS™ Forums Software.   ©2009, WebMotif Net Services, Inc.
The WIPS Forums is customized software and part of WebMotif's WIPS Content Management System.
Home | Opinions | Consumer Reviews | Guides & How Tos | CoffeeGeek Reviews | Resources | Forums | Contact Us
CoffeeGeek.com, CoffeeGeek, and Coffee Geek, along with all associated content & images are copyright ©2000-2009 by WebMotif Net Services, Inc., all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated. Content, code, and images may not be reused without permission. Usage of this website signifies agreement with our Terms and Conditions. (0.48490500450134)
Privacy Policy | Copyright Info | Terms and Conditions | CoffeeGeek Advertisers | RSS