Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
coffeegeek product reviews
the detailed review - sl 70 review
SL 70 Review - Conclusions
Author: Mark Prince
Posted: July 4, 2002
Detailed Review rating: 9.4
feedback: (14) comments | read | write
SL70 machine

Can you tell I like this machine? I'll let you in on a secret.

This was one of the more challenging reviews for me (along with the Solis Maestro review I did) because I was very conscious the entire testing and writing periods of the fact that the folks from Baratza are friends of mine. I was so concerned about being objective, that I think I may have stressed certain bad points about the machine too much.

But facts are facts. The Solis Crema SL-70 may have a few shortcomings, but overall it is a seriously good machine, one capable of "greatness" as they say. The amazing leap in quality by just changing the filter baskets show this. Don't take my word for it though, this was the consensus of my two testing groups involved in putting the machine through its paces.

It was during one of those two test groups that I also found out something else - the SL-70 is an "unknown" machine to a fair amount of people, even those who consider themselves espresso cognoscenti. In online forums, the talk is often on Gaggias and Rancilios and Pasquinis and Giottos, and when people think of Solis, they are usually talking about the nifty Maestro grinder, or the super automatics that Solis makes. The fact that they have a capable (but small) line of traditional machines, including one of only two or three "automatics" on the consumer marketplace in N. America often escapes people.

When coming up with the ratings for this machine, it was mutually decided that we should rate the SL-70 with the aftermarket filters, and without. It makes that big a difference. It affected two comparisons, shot quality and ease of use.

With these ratings, all the test subjects agreed to give one of the four (five) brewers a 10, then base the other ratings on that 10. The numbers shown represent the average rating, rounded to .5. Seven people were involved in the testing and ratings, including 3 espresso experts, 2 intermediate espresso drinkers, and 2 introductory espresso fans.

Comparison Ratings
SL-70 (reg filter)SL-70 (aftermkt filter)Via VenetoElektra NivolaPasquini Livia
Ease of Use9.59.08.08.510.0
Shot Quality7.08.56.57.510.0
Materials8.08.04.59.510.0
Steaming9.59.56.56.010.0
Wow Factor7.57.54.010.09.0
Value for Money10.010.07.56.58.5

Recommended Product
I highly recommend the SL-70, even more so if you get the aftermarket filters. You don't need the single, just get the double, adding some $15 to the price. This is a machine with ample steaming power, a large reservoir and boiler, and it is quite capable of producing a great shot of espresso. The fast ramp up times for steaming and the innovative "boiler on" microswitch connected to the steaming knob are the little things that make single-boiler machines that much more of a pleasure to use.

Once again, I would like to thank Baratza LLC (website), including Kyle for his patience with my questions, Kyra for sending the machine, and Josie for helping with some facts checking on this review. The SL-70 can be found online for as little as $299.

The Final Word
Only two things keep this machine from scoring a 10 - the small portafilter and the crema enhancing baskets. This machine is a performer, and well designed.
Rated 9 out of 10
Product Supplier

Baratza LLC
www.baratza.com
Bellevue, WA
1-877-701-2020

Product Pricing

The SL-70 sells for $375 (updated July 2005), and can be found from a variety of vendors online. If you would like to support CoffeeGeek.com, you can purchase the Solis SL-70 Espresso Machine through our Amazon Affiliate Link.

Detailed Review rating: 9.4
Author: Mark Prince
Posted: July 4, 2002
feedback: (14) comments | read | write
This review and all its parts are ©2003-2005 CoffeeGeek.com and the review in part or in whole may NOT be reproduced in any electronic or printed medium without prior permission from the author or this website. For information on reproducing any part of this review (or any images) or if you would like to purchase a printed version of this review for commercial or private use, please contact us at info@coffeegeek.com for further details.
Interactive
Search
Login Password
forgot pw | signup
quickNav
Detailed Review Sections
Arrow 1. Introduction
Aarow 2. Overview
Aarow 3. Out of the Box
Aarow 4. Operation Etc.
Aarow 5. Performance
Aarow 6. Comparisons
Arrow 7. Conclusion
advertisement
sponsorad
Cafe Solutions
Commercial sales and service, nationwide installation, equipment leasing options.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com
sponsorad
Coffee Kids
Help folks who help folks in coffee producing nations.
coffeekids.org
sponsorad
Stefano's Espresso Care
Repair - Parts - Sales
Factory Authorized &
Trained Technician
www.espressocare.com
Home | Opinions | Consumer Reviews | Guides & How Tos | CoffeeGeek Reviews | Resources | Forums | Contact Us
CoffeeGeek.com, CoffeeGeek, and Coffee Geek, along with all associated content & images are copyright ©2000-2014 by Mark Prince, all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated. Content, code, and images may not be reused without permission. Usage of this website signifies agreement with our Terms and Conditions. (0.240278959274)
Privacy Policy | Copyright Info | Terms and Conditions | CoffeeGeek Advertisers | RSS | Find us on Google+