Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
consumer product reviews
consumer espresso machine reviews
Rancilio Silvia
Where to Buy
Arrow iDrinkCoffee.com
Arrow 1st in Coffee
Arrow Prima Coffee Equipment
 List your business site here.
About "Where to Buy"

Product Details
Overall Rating 8.5, Based on 230 Reviews
Avg Price $629.00
Manufacturer Rancilio
Machine Type Pump, Single Boiler, Reservoir, Semi Auto, Espresso Machine
Colors Satin Stainless Steel
Class Semi Automatic Dual Purpose Boiler
Pro Review No
First Look Yes
QuickShot No

Review Guidelines
Arrow Please write reviews for products you own, and avoid single line responses - details matter.
Arrow Provide comparisons you might have with other products similar to this one you are reviewing.
Arrow Be realistic with your ratings, and remember that others will be using your review to make purchase decisions.
Arrow Please check spelling and avoid controversial language.
Arrow Please review our copyright information and terms of service before posting your review.

Consumer Espresso: Rancilio Silvia
Previous Product Consumer Espresso Next Product

A true benchmark machine, this machine made Rancilio a lot of money since it was introduced in 1998 - it has become the standard against which all other consumer, single boiler machines are measured against. Currently in its 3rd revision.

Write a Review for this Product
Sort Listing: Date Written | A-Z | Rating | Quality
Order A-Z | Order Z-A 21 - 40 | Prev 20 | Next 20 | See All
Bob (quality: 4.5) 02.04.2001 Rating: 10.0
Bottom Line: If you are a serious espresso drinker and like golden crema, this is your machine.
Bob Abbott (quality: 6.7) 02.05.2004 Rating: 9.4
Bottom Line: Nothing better -- except a daily trip to Italy, perhaps.
Bob Cuthbert (quality: 4.0) 07.21.2001 Rating: 10.0
Bottom Line: I'm happy!
Boris Gershman (quality: 5.8) 10.15.2005 Rating: 5.2
Bottom Line: Despite a great reputation, I was unable to get a consistently decent shot from this finicky machine.
Brent Baker (quality: 6.8) 01.04.2007 Rating: 9.4
Bottom Line: An amazing machine with professional-grade parts that (when paired with a quality grinder and consistently good barista skills) can produce amazing espresso beverages
Brian Berkley (quality: 6.0) 01.20.2002 Rating: 9.2
Bottom Line: Don't mess with the rest, Miss Silvia is the best!
Brian Rose (quality: 7.0) 09.29.2010 Rating: 8.4
Bottom Line: Get her hot, give her good coffee and she will more than satisfy your needs (for espresso, anyway).
Bruce Evans (quality: 8.0) 06.22.2008 Rating: 9.0
Bottom Line: For light duty, with the PID modification and consistent technique, the Silvia is a great performer and a great value!
Bruce Weir (quality: 6.2) 01.27.2006 Rating: 9.4
Bottom Line: My friends call me shaky now that I'm pulling about 6 shots a day.
C H (quality: 6.7) 07.08.2002 Rating: 9.0
Bottom Line: I am happy with it, and that's all that counts
Carl Scott (quality: 1.2) 12.13.2009 Rating: 4.6
Bottom Line: Seems well-built, but espresso is very disappointing, with nearly zero crema, no matter what I tried.  Not worth it, a $100 Krups out-performs it.  Good at frothing, but not great. Thumbs down.
Carole McMurray (quality: 3.0) 09.30.2005 Rating: 9.2
Bottom Line: Silvia is "da bomb".  Beautiful machine makes beautiful cappuccinos!
Charles Lewis 11.16.2012 Rating: 10.0
Bottom Line: I joined the club.
Cheri Berry (quality: 4.9) 06.06.2008 Rating: 5.2
Bottom Line: I'll give it another chance...
Chris (quality: 5.0) 02.06.2001 Rating: 9.2
Bottom Line: Produces much better expresso then my Krups and less messier too.
Chris Beck (quality: 6.5) 03.29.2001 Rating: 9.6
Bottom Line: Buy one, you won't regret it.  She's a beautiful machine.
Chris Brown 12.20.2012 Rating: 10.0
Bottom Line: This machine truly is a commercial quality machine without a large footprint.  I would buy again.
Chris Clark (quality: 9.1) 03.31.2012 Rating: 8.2
Bottom Line: The Silvia is about patience and practice. If you have both in store, you're ready to go.
Chris Furia (quality: 7.0) 12.01.2003 Rating: 8.2
Bottom Line: This machine rocks, but if you're looking for an automated machine, stick with the Solis SL90.
Chris Wood (quality: 7.8) 06.18.2002 Rating: 9.2
Bottom Line: Silvia is a terrific home machine for the beginner or the experienced home-barista.
Sort Listing: Date Written | A-Z | Rating | Ranking
Order A-Z | Order Z-A 21 - 40 | Prev 20 | Next 20 | See All
Interactive
Search
Login Password
forgot pw | signup
quickNav
advertisement
sponsorad
Stefano's Espresso Care
Repair - Parts - Sales
Factory Authorized &
Trained Technician
www.espressocare.com
sponsorad
Rancilio Silvia - How to
Step by step guide for easy brewing and steaming with the Rancilio Silvia
www.seattlecoffeegear.com
advertisement
Home | Opinions | Consumer Reviews | Guides & How Tos | CoffeeGeek Reviews | Resources | Forums | Contact Us
CoffeeGeek.com, CoffeeGeek, and Coffee Geek, along with all associated content & images are copyright ©2000-2014 by Mark Prince, all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated. Content, code, and images may not be reused without permission. Usage of this website signifies agreement with our Terms and Conditions. (0.265446901321)
Privacy Policy | Copyright Info | Terms and Conditions | CoffeeGeek Advertisers | RSS | Find us on Google+